redeemed.

re·deem
riˈdēm/
verb
past tense: redeemed; past participle: redeemed
  1. compensate for the faults or bad aspects of (something).
    2. gain or regain possession of (something) in exchange for payment.
I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately about my redemption story, about how even when I was a believer, I needed his redemption in my life. This isn’t something that I bring up lightly, it isn’t something that I dwell on much at all, but it is something that the enemy likes to remind me of. That one time or when I did such ‘n such. I have to counter those thoughts with the reminder that my debt has been paid in full, that I’m forgiven completely, that the battle has already been won for me.
I don’t have to walk around in shame or regret, but in victory and in power, because Christ has overcome so much for me. I am redeemed, it’s a past tense word. It has already been done and there isn’t any going back. Life may try and cycle you back to where you once were, but you don’t have to go there. You don’t have to be that person you once were.
Sometimes I have a hard time believing in my redemption, that I’m still being punished for past mistakes, that once I’m really forgiven, then I’ll get those things in my life that I desire that everyone else seems to have. It just simply is. not. true. It’s more of a process for us humans to realize our redemption than it is for God to pull us from the depths and tell us we are forgiven.
What’s it going to take between you and God for you really to believe He is who He says He is?
Think about that, is there something in your relationship with Him that is hindering you from believing in him and trusting him completely?
I recently had my own revelation moment. I was journaling about Hope. It is a word that believers use all the time. The thing is, I didn’t realize how much hope I put into things of this world. We put hope into people and situations and if it doesn’t go exactly like we hope, we’re disappointed. Which, honestly, is most of the time. But Listen, we need to put our hope solely in Jesus, we need to put it all in him and we won’t be disappointed. I’m still walking through and working through what that even looks like in my life. I hadn’t realized how much hope I has put into others.
hope and redemption.
They do go together. We have so much hope for the future if we live in our redemption. Not take advantage of our gracious God that forgives, but living a life worthy of the calling. If we weren’t redeemed or didn’t believe we were redeemed how much hope would we have? probably not much. But living in redemption and putting our hope in Christ, is the best scenario.
I guess that’s my own personal challenge. Know that I’m free from the past and that I have hope for the future if I put all my hope in Jesus.
This song sums it up pretty well for me.
 
He’s not done with me yet,
Natalie
One thought on “redeemed.

Leave a Reply

