love: redefined

I’m in the midst of reading a McManus book, if you haven’t read him, you should. I’m reading Soul Cravings. I have just barely started it and it is already making me think twice about a lot of stuff.

The first section, which I’m about half-way through is talking about love and how we all desire it so deeply. We are designed to love in a way that most of us aren’t even close to knowing. Beyond that though, there is unconditional love that comes from our creator. We tend to do all of these religious things to make Him love us, we’re so used to conditional love. We think that someone will leave us if we don’t do something for them, and so we treat our creator that way as well.  Think about it, people pray five times a day facing the east, or pray the rosary, or make sure they have all of the Worship lyrics memorized… Whoops! Did I just say that? We get to the point that something is such an act to show Him why he should love us. “God, I pray everyday, read my Bible, and go to youth group each week, is that enough?” That’s what goes through so many people’s minds, isn’t it? We feel like we have to earn it, just like everything else. What if we actually realized that it is two-sided love, that He is passionately pursuing us? What would happen if people found out that this love was free? Nope, you don’t have to go church, it’s free. No, you don’t have to earn back some trust with him because you messed up once, it’s free. What would happen to this world if people found out that the one thing that they are searching so desperately for was FREE! Our culture likes that word, especially if there isn’t any fine print, nothing that puts conditions on it, no dates to cash it in, no certain amount of time to have it for free and then you have to pay double. None of that. How would they respond then? So, what’s the issue? Here’s my opinion, those of us that call ourselves believers aren’t convinced of it either, so how could the unbeliever know.

I don’t have all the answers to these questions, but I do know that my creator loves me unconditionally. He knows me better than anyone else, yet he still loves me without condition. I better realize this and stop beating myself up for mistakes, and stop letting other people beat me up for my mistakes. I’m forgiven, he still loves me and I’m moving on. I’m sorry if you’re still stuck at the starting gate, but I’m going to finish this race.

2 thoughts on “love: redefined

  1. Whoa! So true! I wonder what it would look like if the church treated God like this too? What i mean is, what if the church pursued God like he pursues us? Relentless, not discouraging, no fear, with everything we have? What if we started treating God like we want to treat our spouse? Spending every waking day with him, talking to him, telling him how much we love him…falling in love with him?

    I think you might be on to something here, nat.

  2. Natalie,

    What an affirming blog. It’s funny that we put all of those human characteristics (like being conditional, or sneaky, or self serving) on our perfect loving Lord.

Leave a Reply

