how to pack for six months…

hummm, let’s see, how do I do this? ok, well first you start out with a cute cat on your bed and start throwing stuff on your bed that you think you’ll need. something like this… img_0141.jpg Then you load all of it into your backpack using compression sacks and other various things that smash everything as small as it can get and you end up with this…img_0143.jpg 52 lbs later you look over your packing list and realize that there might be a few things that you forgot. dang. So then I emptied the backpack, looked at my list, and thought that maybe I’ll try it all again tomorrow. It is actually quite a workout, I even sweated! Here is my packing list, am I missing anything essential? WARNING: Guys, I did put everything on this list, hopefully none of it surprises you… 🙂 

  • Flashlight
  • Sleeping bag
  • Pillow
  • Blanket
  • Bible
  • Notebook
  • Pens/highlighter
  • Toiletries
    • Toothbrush/ paste
    • Deodorant
    • Nail clippers
    • Hair product
    • Toothbrush charger
    • Advil
    • Bandaids/Neosporin+
    • Qtips
    • Travel shampoo/lotion
    • Razor/refills
    • Tampons/pads
    • Allegra
    • inhaler
  • Jeans x 3
  • Dresspants x 2
  • Shorts x 4
  • T-shirts x 10
  • Sweatshirt
  • Rain jacket
  • Camera
  • Computer
  • Video camera/tapes
  • Sunscreen
  • Swimsuit/shorts
  • Flip-Flops
  • Tennis shoes
  • Socks
  • Underwear
  • Tank-tops
  • Sunglasses
  • Sheets
  • Knife
  • Plate/fork/cup
  • Coffee maker thing-a-ma-jig (it’s cool!)
  • Chapstick
  • Towel/washcloth
  • Converter
  • Passport
  • Skype headset
  • H2O bottle
  • Sleeping pad
  • Iphone charger
  • Travel pillow
  • Alarm clock
  • Dress shoes
  • Work shoes

Bra/sports bra

3 thoughts on “how to pack for six months…

  1. Probably isnt going to be beneficial to take your sonic care because you will have to get a converter for it, wont you?
    Do you need to take a pillow and sleeping bag, wont one be provided?
    -sleeping bag and blanket?
    Do you need sheets and towel?
    **Good job on skype!***

    This is what i would ask myself – what do i NEED to bring and what can i buy there for cheap?

    Shoot – i guess if you can fit everything in your pack, then dont leave anything out! Pack it all!

    IM SO EXCITED FOR YOUUU!!
    make sure you update your flickr account like…everyday!

  2. Sonicare will have to stay, even though I do already have a converter for my computer and camera chargers too. No bedding will be provided, I’ll buy a pillow there, it didn’t fit last night. Sheets to sleep on and a towel to dry off with, yes, I’ll need them both. Good points though, thanks for helping me think through the decisions! I might have to upgrade my flickr account so I can upload more in a month, we’ll see!

  3. Hi. 🙂
    I came across your site whilst looking for some advice about packing for a six month trip! I am going to be away for six months, as well. Please let me know how useful this list was for you? What did you do differently? What do you wish you had packed more/less of?
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

