Up and running

Well, I arrived here at 2pm on Friday afternoon and did everything that I could to stay awake until it was somewhat night time. I actually made it to 9pm, so I felt pretty good about that. I got here, they gave me and another girl that came in around the same time a tour of the base, I unpacked all of my stuff, took a shower (praise the Lord), and took a short 15 minute nap. I met a bunch of people whose names I’ll probably forget, or already have! We had dinner and it was a pasta and ground beef casserole… interesting, but not bad. After that, I did a bit more organizing of my stuff and went to an evening service that had worship and a speaker. It’s open to the public. But of course are mainly YWAM people. I had to stand up in my seat and share my name and where I was from and what I was doing there. Also, at dinner Jess, the school leader, got up during announcements and welcomed me, without notice! After the service I went back to my dorm, which is about 5 bunk beds in a wide-open room and crashed, I barely remember my head hitting the pillow. I woke up this morning and it is pouring down rain, awesome! We’re going to go into the city later and check things out for the afternoon, we’ll see how long we stay since it is raining so hard. We’ll see when I get the Internet up and running, I have to find some guy to give me the access key. So this maybe posted at the same time as some more up to date things, but I wanted to let everyone know what I’m up to. It was kinds cool this morning I met yet another person, which I think will be pretty regular for a while. Her name is Sarah (Chicago) and she is staffing the general DTS, she told me that last night after I introduced myself at the Friday night service, that she leaned over to her friend and said that she thought that I would be a lot of fun. I guess that’s a pretty good first impression. Well, that’s all I have to share for now, we’ll see what comes of today!

 

Life has been a bit of a whirlwind of new people since I arrived. It is now Tuesday afternoon and things are still going great. I’m really not home sick and things are amazing here. I had and awesome time of worship Monday morning with the whole base, it happens each week. Then we had a day of orientation and meeting as a school. Everyone is so nice and want to meet everyone new. I’ve had a great time getting to know girls that are in my school and ones that aren’t. I’ve gone into the city twice with Amanda (San Francisco) and Heather (Seattle), they are both doing the School of Worship (SOW) it’s a second level course, so they were giving me tips for my DTS. Last night I had a great time getting to know Sarah and Elli. Sarah is from the general DTS and Elli is staff on mine. I found myself sitting in the hallway at our dorms on the couches with three staff members and myself. I shared about my experience getting here and what God has brought me through. I asked Sarah to tell me about her gamily and she ended up telling her whole testimony, which is quite cool. She is one of those girls that I’m going to become good friends with. We have fun and click quite well with each other. I don’t know what it is about her, but I’m just really comfortable around her and it might be that she fed me my first morning. Weet-bix, they are interesting, but not too bad, with sugar…

 

My class is pretty cool too, all 6 of us are girls. Jungtina (India), Petrina (Singapore), Joanne (Hawaii), Amanda (Portland), Rebecca (Chicago). We also have 4 staff members, Jess (USA), Elli (Germany), Rachel (California), Nathan (Canada). It is a good crew and I think that we’re going to have a lot of fun. Life here is pretty laid back and I’ve had quite a bit of free time so far, but I hear that will all change very soon. I’m excited about the projects that we have and I’ll try to share of some of them as well. God has been carrying me these last 4 days and I know without a doubt that this is where he wants me for this time. I already have people that want me to stay longer, but we’ll have to see about that 😉 Thanks for all of your prayers, I’ll try to keep you updated as much as possible, but sometimes it is hard to express in words everything that God is doing, but I’ll do my best.

 It is now Thursday evening and we started our lectures yesterday, I was a bit overwhelmed with all of the information that I’ve been learning. I do know that I love God a lot and he is taking great care of me. I have a free evening tonight and I’m supposed to be working on my journal for school, but I just got my internet up and running so I’m a bit distracted. We started morning chores and work duties today. I’m in the kitchen for both… God knows that I need that time to process through everything that I’m learning. It’ll be good. I’m still so excited to be and so excited for what God is going to do in me. The people are great, the girls that I live with are great and I’m making some friends that I’ll be able to keep for life. Check out flickr for some pictures of the base and Perth in general. Hope to hear from you. Sorry if I can send long emails about what I’m doing, but I’ll try to put as much down here as I can for everyone to read. Thanks for all of your prayers and support. 

Natalie

 

5 thoughts on “Up and running

  1. Hi Natalie! I’m so glad that you are “up and running” It has been a little strange to not hear from you – but I am so glad that you are settling in so well and getting to know everyone. and I think i prefer the blog to an email – just reading the day to day stuff! How cool is your class size – 6 people all from different areas and backgrounds I’m sure. God has good stuff for all of you!
    Mom and Dad just booked a trip to come visit here in a week and half – the girls will have a blast seeing them! And Owen getting to know them again – it will be that way for a while with him though =) He took 4 steps all by himself the other day – 9 months old! Hes a quick little boy. Lots of fun!
    Look forward to hear of all the goodness!
    Love you – Amy

  2. Yay, it sounds like you already have some homies. Thats awesome!! I’m rallying a group to go over to your “The Shaws” for Mexican train this Saturday evening, but I know it woun’t be quite the same without you. I love that you have this blog though, keep on rockin’ sista!

  3. Aunt Karen and girls in the office all read together your blog. Approx. how big is the campus people wise? Is your hair curly from the humidity? Aunt karen and I and Dad will be getting our passports soon!! She has always wanted to go to Australia, too!! I’ll go just because you’re there; and Dad really wants to go. If you stay on; we’ll be there for sure!!! Any good scripture lately speaking to you?

  4. NATALIE!!
    Oh my goodness! Its been CRAZY not knowing what has been happening! I have checked your blog EVERYDAY since you have left and more than once per day!
    So – do you only have girls on your team? How cool would that be?! What are you going to learn in class? Are they going to give you videography and photography classes? How about Bible classes? I bet you really don’t need those since you did the itnernship!

    Hey – keep up the good work! Ill comment on your flickr account!

  5. EHHHHHHH Wheate bix!!! nasty little things… good with veggie mite and butter though… that was on the list of things I gave you! do you still have that list??? btw you need to change the font I can hardly read anythings!!!! miss you!

Leave a Reply

