days keep rollin’ by

I can’t believe that this week had flown by as fast as it has. Today was another long day out in the sun, and sweating soooo much! I drank at least a gallon of water today, if not more… We started our mural in the slum today. All of the kids were so excited and wanted to watch what was going on the whole time. We tried to keep them busy by playing games with them else where, but we were there for at least 5 hours, so it is tough to keep the kids entertained for that long. I helped with both, and documenting both. We were using oil-based paint since it is cheaper than an exterior paint for the cement, so it was fun keeping that cleaned up. We had a lot of fun and I got a little burned on my arms and probably my face too, but since there aren’t many mirrors here I don’t get to see myself in one very often. I have a small one, but it just isn’t the same. Sorry about that tangent. After we got a good portion of our painting done today we got some dinner and headed to Fredrick’s church to do his youth group for him. I played the djembe with Nathan and Jungtina on the guitars for the singing time. Then a few girls shared their stories and Petrina  brought the word. It was a great night the HS moved and all of the students were spoken over. Then at the end Nate and I jammed for a little while. It was my first time on a drum kit since I left Poulsbo! It was the greatest feeling to play again. And good news, I haven’t lost my touch! haha, I didn’t think I would, but to go from playing almost daily to not playing at all in 3 1/2 months is weird.

Tomorrow I get to sleep in until about 9:30 so I’m pretty excited. Here a couple of pictures from today!

 The kids are watching Petrina as she paints, we’re going to finish it on Wednesday!

 We were playing “What time is it Mr. Wolf?” Do you know that game? pretty fun!

One thought on “days keep rollin’ by

  1. so proud of you, you look great; look like you’re having a lot of fun. does that back pack get heavy? I almost cry staring at your pic. love you, my baby, Mom

Leave a Reply

