Listening.

Well, I’ve only been here a couple of short days and God is already at work. I don’t know why that should surprise me!

Going back a few days… I was leaving for my last day of work at Gateway on Friday. I had this small inkling to go to work via  a different route than I normally do. I thought it was just me being nostalgic, but as I got toward the end of the road, it was closed, I had to take a detour, it wasn’t a long detour, but it took me back to the other route that I was contemplating taking. I was going the same way as I would have if I had just listened before, that small voice helps in the small the everyday things. As I was on my way to  work that morning, He just reminded me that He wasn’t to be in complete control of my life. Every small decision can have an affect on my future.

This mostly has worked out to be a reminder for me to – LISTEN. 

Be still, and know that I am God!
    I will be honored by every nation.
    I will be honored throughout the world.
Psalm 46:10 NLT

In our stillness we can listen and know where he wants us to be/live/breathe. He wasn’t what is best for us and I’m currently on that journey to listen for His voice in the everyday living to know His plans for my future. That’s how I intend to live out this verse that is always on the forefront of my mind.

So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him. 

Romans 12:1 MSG

 

Leave a Reply

