boomerang.

I know that I’ve needed to write this post for a while now, but have just been putting it off. I always find so much clarity in writing and sometimes, there are things in me that i’m just not ready to share with anyone, and of course, there are things that will stay with me.

All that being said it has been a crazy month! As most of my friends and followers know, I was having a really hard time finding a job in California, who knew it would be so difficult?! Well, apparently it wasn’t meant to be…

On December 15 I came home to find out more about a job opportunity up here, back in Seattle. I was introduced to a deeper level of Storyville Coffee Company. I can’t say much about what has drawn me to the company besides the obvious things. They make great coffee and they do everything with such a high level of excellence that I’m automatically drawn into it. The company has a great leadership team and the heart of the company beats in time with my heart and passions.

So, on December 15 I applied to join Storyville, I applied to join a 3-week training process, with each week being contracted separately with no guarantee of being invited back for the next week. So I was invited to join their “ground school” starting January 2. So, I flew back to Cali, packed up all my stuff, talked to my amazing roommates, got out of my lease and drove back up here with most of my stuff (I had to leave all my furniture) in my car. 

As I have embarked on this journey I have found a new depth to who I am, I’m doing things I’ve never thought I would do and meeting some pretty amazing people along the way. I have found this new passion for learning, I want to do well with everything I put my hand to. I study hard every night and memorize tons of information about, coffee, baking, teams, life skills, you name it, we’ve probably touched on it!

I just started my third week of training today, I’ve been invited back twice now, we leave each Monday not knowing which of our friends we’ll see again on Thursday. It’s stressful, fun, exciting, and I’m worn out at the end of each day. Just how I like it! I have found something that I really feel could be a career for me. A beautiful brand that loves its employees and takes care of them. Who does 3 weeks of paid training without ever having to enter a store? This has been an amazing process and I’m so excited to see where I can go in the future, granted, I still haven’t been offered a job, but hopefully that will happen soon enough!

My time in Cali really prepared me for all of this. I don’t believe I would have ever had left Gateway to just go down the street to a job that was a maybe for one-week at a time, but in my desperation, I found God pointing me in this direction. This whole process has been very humbling and I have found my patience has also grown in leaps and bounds. I’ve waited on God and trusted His words, knowing that he sent me to California, He sent me to get me out of my rut, He sent me to open my eyes to the bigger picture. He has been continually showing me my worth and value, not just in a company, but as a person. When I apply myself, I ace every test I’m given. When I believe in something, I apply myself. and when those around me believe that I’m someone to be looked up to, I just continue to be myself. A leader should be the same person in their home as they are in the limelight. That’s what I strive for. That’s where i’m headed.

I know that’s a lot of writing and probably a lot of random thoughts, but I’m really loving life right now. I’m happy, I’m worn out, i’m excited to get up and go to work and I miss my co-workers when I’m not with them! I know we’re in a little bit of a La-la land right now, but still, I’m loving where I’m at in life! For those friends new and old, you’ve each played a role in encouragement in my life. I know that some of these last few months  might look wasted, but none of it was. I’m living without regret. It’s all Worth The Risk!

One thought on “boomerang.

  1. Wow…I love reading about how people follow God even during the tough times and come out on top in so many ways! We love and support you Natalie even from afar 🙂 Continued blessings to you as you continue your journey.

Leave a Reply

