thriving.

I’ve always said that I want to not just survive in this life, but thrive. I want to do everything with excellence, not just a mediocre pass. I strive to be the best at everything I set my hand to. I don’t always succeed, but I try!

These last couple of months I’ve found myself thriving like never before… sure, I’ve had my moments of frustration, but I’ve pushed through those to find my way. I read a bumper sticker of all things a few months ago… it was probably this last spring. It said “Don’t let a man be your financial plan.” When I read that I realized that I wasn’t thriving at the moment. I was living paycheck to paycheck, working really hard but not always feeling appreciated. I was surviving. I knew that I had so much more in me to be in a place of thriving, I think that is what started this whole crazy journey that i’m in the middle of. Yes, I said the middle. I’ve made a lot of changes in the last 6-months, but I don’t think I’ll stop here. I want to keep striving for more, keep finding what i’m made to do. Keep pushing myself to be my best. There are always ways for me to improve in everything I’m doing. Really in everything we’re all doing.

I keep asking what’s next. What else can I do? Who else can I impact? Who will I see that I can make a difference in their life? I think these are all questions that we should each be asking, never being satisfied with where life has you, not a level of discontent, but a place of going deeper. Every year as I read through the Bible I read the same scriptures over and over again, year after year, but new things are illuminated to me as I read and go deeper in relationship with God. It’s similar to this in everyday life, I might be doing the same things day in and day out, but I appreciate new things or see different things that I didn’t see the day before. I’m pretty sure it all has to do with thriving in every situation I’m in.

All this to say, let’s go deeper. In every aspect of our lives, we can dig deeper, go further and be greater.  With the help of Jesus all things are possible!

Leave a Reply

